Law Offices of Tedone and Morton, P.C.

Joliet Office

815-666-1285

Plainfield Office

815-733-5350

Posted on

Plainfield, IL drug trafficking defense attorney

There is still over one month until recreational marijuana becomes legal in the state of Illinois. Even when the new year comes around, "hard drugs" including cocaine, heroin, and methamphetamines will still be illegal. It is unlawful for a person to possess, manufacture, sell, and traffic drugs in the state of Illinois, and offenders can face serious criminal charges if they are caught. That is why it is important to understand the new legislation for cannabis and how it could affect you. 

What Is Drug Trafficking?

The act of bringing any illegal substance across Illinois borders is considered “trafficking.” Whether it is marijuana or a more harmful drug, traffickers can face felony charges, which can result in jail time and hefty fines.

Under current laws, possession of less than 10 grams of marijuana is not considered a felony, but offenders can still expect to face misdemeanor punishments of up to one year in prison and up to $2,500 in fines. Illinois law sentences offenders to more severe penalties depending on the amount of drugs found in a legal search and seizure:

  • 10-30 grams of marijuana can result in 1-3 years in jail and fines of up to $25,000

  • 30-500 grams of marijuana can result in 2-5 years in jail and fines of up to $50,000

  • 500-2,000 grams of marijuana can result in 3-7 years in jail and fines of up to $100,000

  • 2,000-5,000 grams of marijuana can result in 4-15 years in jail and fines of up to $150,000

  • Over 5,000 grams of marijuana can result in 6-30 years in jail and fines of up to $200,000

Penalties for possessing stronger drugs such as cocaine, methamphetamines, LSD, or heroin will face even harsher punishments than for possession of marijuana:

  • Less than 15 grams can result in 4-15 years in jail and fines of up to $250,000

  • 15-100 grams can result in 6-30 years in jail and fines of up to $500,000

  • 100-400 grams can result in 9-40 years in jail and fines of up to $500,000

  • 400-900 grams can result in 12-50 years in jail and fines of up to $500,000

  • Over 900 grams can result in 15-60 years in jail and fines of up to $500,000

In regards to marijuana, if a trafficker is caught bringing more than 2,500 grams of the drug across Illinois state lines, he or she can face a mandatory double sentence of the minimum penalty for possessing the drug.

What About After the First of the Year?

In 2020, hard drugs will still be illegal, and the law will still make possessing large amounts of marijuana illegal. Those who wish to use marijuana after it becomes legal may only legally purchase it at one of the licensed dispensaries and may not possess more than 30 grams of the cannabis flower, five grams of cannabis concentrate, or 500 milligrams of cannabis-infused edibles.

The state of Illinois will also give licenses to employees who will transport the drugs to and from the dispensaries. It will still be against the law to traffic marijuana into Illinois with the intent to sell it outside of a licensed dispensary.

Contact a Joliet, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

Being caught with any amount of drugs while crossing into a state that has strict drug rules can change a person’s life forever. A large amount of drugs can lead to a trafficker being sent to prison for a long time. The lawyers of Tedone & Morton, P.C. can help build a solid defense strategy based on the legality of the search and seizure performed, violations of your rights, or other circumstances surrounding your case. If your rights were compromised by the authorities, our Will County drug crimes lawyers will find out. To schedule your free consultation, call our office today at 815-666-1285.

 

Sources:

https://norml.org/laws/item/illinois-penalties

https://www.iwu.edu/counseling/Illinois_Drug_Laws.htm 

https://www.illinoispolicy.org/what-you-need-to-know-about-marijuana-legalization-in-illinois/

 

Plainfield, IL street racing criminal defense attorney

Roadways can generally be a dangerous place, but they become more unsafe when people decide to participate in “street racing.” This act can be defined as two or more cars racing down portions of a public road at speeds that surpass the legal limit. It is common for drivers to participate in street racing as a sport off of public roads. However, those drivers who take the competition to public streets -- where other drivers are not expecting it -- can face severe traffic violations if caught.

What Is Considered Street Racing?

The state of Illinois has a law against drivers who race their vehicles down public roadways. The law states that drivers on Illinois streets and highways are not permitted to:

  • Allow their vehicle to be used in a street race

  • Operate two or more vehicles that quickly accelerate in order to outdistance each other

  • Use a public road to test and compare the acceleration of two or more vehicles

  • Use one or more vehicles to not allow a car to overtake another

  • Use a public road to test the stamina of a vehicle’s speed

What Are the Consequences of Street Racing?

Drivers can injure themselves or others during a street race. If violators collide with an innocent vehicle, the victim can suffer many types of damages:

The driver who was involved in the street race will be considered at fault and required to pay compensation to the victim or the victim’s family. On top of that, a driver can be affected by street racing because of the charges that come after the accident. A driver’s record will be tainted, and his or her reputation within the community may also suffer. This is why street racing should be kept to competitive arenas and away from unsuspecting bystanders.

Illinois Penalties for Street Racing

The actions described above can be considered reckless driving, because the street racers are putting the lives of other drivers in danger. Therefore, an offender may be charged with reckless driving and face a Class A misdemeanor, which is punishable by up to one year in prison and fines of up to $2,500, plus court fees.

Violators of the Illinois street racing law will face charges whether or not the action is considered “reckless driving.” A first offense will be considered a Class A misdemeanor, and drivers will be fined at least $250. Subsequent violations will be considered a Class 4 felony punishable with a fine of at least $500.

Additionally, a driver will have his or her license revoked for a certain amount of time depending on the severity of the crime and the number of previous violations. Aggravated street racing may be charged if a car accident occurs which results in a victim being injured or killed. This is a Class 4 felony punishable by a prison term of 1 to 12 years.

Contact a Joliet, IL Traffic Violations Attorney

Street racing may be a source of entertainment for some drivers and a result of road rage for others. Whatever the reason, the results of speeding and reckless driving can have serious consequences. The experienced lawyers from the Law Office of Tedone & Morton, P.C. can help you if you are facing any type of traffic violation charge. We will review the details of your case and build a strong defense on your behalf. To schedule your free consultation with a diligent Will County criminal defense lawyer, call our office today at 815-666-1285.

 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=062500050K11-506

https://illinoisrecklessdriving.com/law-penalties/

 

Plainfield reckless driving defense attorney

It is a simple thing to do, but most drivers have been guilty of not using a turn signal while driving at least once in their lifetime. A recent study from the Society of Automotive Engineers (SAE) revealed that approximately 2 billion occurrences of drivers failing to signal happen every day. On average, 48 percent of drivers fail to signal while changing lanes, while 25 percent fail to signal when turning. Not only is failing to use a turn signal considered a traffic violation in Illinois, but it can also lead to reckless driving charges, because it could lead to collisions. The study from SAE concluded that 2 million car collisions occur annually as a result of failing to signal.

How Does Illinois Enforce Turn Signal Usage?

It is against Illinois law to neglect to use a turn signal while driving. A turn signal should be given at least 200 feet before a turn, and the signal should be used before every lane change. There are other guidelines for drivers to follow in order to keep the road safe for all drivers and pedestrians:

  • At a red light, come to a complete stop before turning unless there is a green arrow on a traffic signal.

  • Yield to the right-of-way traffic.

  • Check for pedestrians and yield to their crossing.

  • Right-hand turners should make their turns as close to the curb as possible, while left-hand turners should complete their turns into the closest lane going in the intended direction.

It is not uncommon for police officers to stop a driver who fails to use the turn signal while driving. In most cases, the action will just result in a traffic ticket with a mandatory fine. However, if an injury or a collision occurs as a result of the neglect, the offending driver can be charged with reckless driving. This offense is defined by Illinois law as any action or inaction that puts other drivers and/or pedestrians in danger of injury or death. People cannot predict the actions of the drivers around them, and if a turn signal is not used, a lane change or a sudden turn can be jarring and can cause a serious collision. Reckless driving is a Class A misdemeanor in Illinois that can result in a $2,500 fine and up to one year in prison.

Why Is a Turn Signal Important?

Communication is key when keeping the roads safe, and the only way drivers can communicate with each other while in motion is through their vehicles’ lights, including the turn signal. The turn signal is important for letting other drivers know:

  • You are planning to turn soon.

  • You are about to change lanes (when it is safe to do so).

  • You are about to change lanes because there is an obstacle in the road or the lanes are merging.

When a turn signal is used, the other drivers on the road can modify their driving so that the turn or lane change can be made safely. If this cooperation does not happen, it can lead to frustration, road rage, and collisions.

Contact a Joliet, IL Traffic Violation Attorney

The rules of the road are put in place for the safety of all motorists. In some cases, forgetting to use your turn signal on can lead to a traffic violation and even a car accident. Charges of reckless driving can have serious consequences, especially if multiple incidents occur close together. A lawyer from the Law Office of Tedone & Morton, P.C. can help make sure your rights were not violated during a traffic stop. To schedule a free consultation with a Will County traffic ticket defense lawyer, call our office today at 815-666-1285.

 

Sources:

https://illinoisrecklessdriving.com/law-penalties/

https://www.drive-safely.net/illinois-turn-signal-laws/

https://cdllife.com/2014/sae-study-reveals-startling-impact-neglectful-turn-signal-use/

 

Will County domestic battery defense attorney

The Illinois State Police approximates that 95 percent of domestic violence cases are men beating women. One case happens every 15 seconds, and Illinois has severe punishments for those offenders convicted of the crime. Charges can range from a misdemeanor to a felony, and convicted abusers can also face many ramifications to their lives, including no access to their victims, isolation from their community, a tarnish on their reputation, and the inability to get a job or purchase a house.

Illinois Domestic Violence Act

The state of Illinois observes domestic violence between members of a household, including:

  • Spouses

  • Parents and children

  • Step-children

  • People who share the same house

  • Co-parents who share parental responsibilities of a child

  • People with disabilities and their caretakers

According to Illinois law, domestic violence can include more than just physical violence. Other forms of domestic violence include harassment, stalking, peeping, keeping children away from their parents without reason, forcing a person to do something they do not want to do, and forcing a child to watch an act of abuse. These types of offenses can lead to a Class A misdemeanor charge, which can be punished by one year in prison, probation, fines, and counseling. Charges may be elevated to felonies for several reasons, including:

  • If an abuser has prior domestic violence charges, they will face a Class 4 felony.

  • A Class 4 felony will also be charged if the act of domestic violence involves a child, a firearm, or sexual assault.

  • Aggravated domestic battery is a Class 2 felony charge, which can lead to a prison term of three to seven years.

Alleged abusers may also face an order of protection, which victims are encouraged to file during a domestic violence case. This type of restraining order will restrict an alleged abuser from having any contact with their alleged victim, and it may place a number of other requirements on a person, including staying out of their house, paying child support or spousal support, or attending counseling.

Defenses Against False Allegations

Unfortunately, some cases of alleged domestic violence turn out to be based on false accusations. In these cases, alleged abusers benefit from having legal counsel on their side to help avoid negative outcomes and a criminal record. An attorney can look into each individual case and find out if there is any evidence showing that the abuse did not occur. An attorney may be able to help demonstrate that an alleged victim's story was fabricated in order to keep a parent from their child or as an attempt to influence the decisions in a child custody dispute.

Contact a Joliet, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

Domestic violence is taken seriously in the state of Illinois. In some cases, however, the accusations may not be true. That is why it is imperative for an alleged abuser to seek the help of a knowledgeable attorney who can properly look into the circumstances of the case. The lawyers of Tedone & Morton, P.C. are capable of building a solid defense on your behalf to avoid a false conviction. To schedule a free consultation with a diligent Will County domestic violence lawyer, call our office at 815-666-1285.

 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/ilcs5.asp?ActID=2100

https://www.isp.state.il.us/crime/domesticviol.cfm

 

Plainfield, IL weapons crime defense attorney

It may be obvious that there are certain requirements a person must meet in order to own a firearm in Illinois, but a lot of people may not be aware that Illinois does not allow possession of certain bladed weapons. The state has a law prohibiting people from possessing, selling, and manufacturing a variety of weapons other than firearms. Depending on the circumstances, violators of this law could face felony weapons charges.

What Weapons Are Prohibited?

Illinois law states it is illegal for anyone to purchase, sell, and possess a very specific list of weapons including:

  • Bludgeons

  • Black-jacks

  • Slung-shots

  • Sand-clubs

  • Sand-bags

  • Metal knuckles

  • Throwing stars

  • Any types of knives

  • Razors

  • Stilettos

  • Broken bottles

  • Stun guns

  • Tasers

These weapons cannot be carried in a vehicle or concealed anywhere on a person’s body unless that person is in his or her own home or has permission from a homeowner to be present in his or her dwelling place with the weapons. Firearms have the same rules, but guns cannot be possessed or concealed without a permit, and a person must have a Firearm Owner’s Identification (FOID) card.

What Are the Penalties for Illegal Weapons Use?

Anyone caught illegally carrying and/or using a non-firearm weapon will face a Class A misdemeanor penalty. If the illegal weapon is a firearm, the charges increase to Class 4 felony punishments. Further penalties may apply based on the circumstances of the offense and the location of the incident, including:

  • A Class 3 felony applies to those who use a silencer on a firearm or to someone who manufactures or sells a rifle with one or more barrels less than 18 inches long.

  • A Class 2 felony applies to those who manufacture, sell, or purchase an automatic machine gun. Punishments include a prison term of three to seven years. A Class X felony will apply if this type of gun is carried while loaded in the passenger compartment of a motor vehicle or on the person’s body.

  • Subsequent offenders of most weapons crimes will be further charged with a Class 3 felony. Each separate weapon found in a person’s possession will result in individual charges.

Punishments are elevated when the violator is caught in possession of their illegal weapon on the grounds of a school (regardless of school hours), in a public park, or in a courthouse. Even if the weapon is not a firearm, the offender can still face Class 4 felony punishments.

The only persons exempt from these laws are police officers who must carry their weapons while on duty.

Contact a Joliet, IL Criminal Defense Attorney

Carrying a concealed weapon in public places can pose a danger to everyone, including the carrier. If you or someone you know have been accused of firearm or non-firearm weapons possession charges, you need a strong defense to clear your name. The lawyers from Tedone & Morton have experience defending against felony charges of illegal weapons usage. To schedule a free consultation with a Will County weapons charges defense lawyer, call our office today at 815-666-1285.

 

Sources:

http://www.ilga.gov/legislation/ilcs/fulltext.asp?DocName=072000050K24-1

 

  • Badges and Associations
  • Badges and Associations
  • Badges and Associations
Back to Top