Law Offices of Tedone and Morton, P.C.

Joliet Office


Plainfield Office


Sex Crimes and the Illinois Sex Offender Registry

Posted on

sex crime, Will County criminal defense lawyerUnlike those related to many other crimes, convictions for most sex crimes carry penalties that last far longer than a prison term, probation, and parole. If you are convicted of a sexual offense in Illinois you may be required to register as a sex offender for ten years, or even for the rest of your life.

Who Has to Register?

Illinois law, in most instances, does not give a judge much, if any, flexibility in deciding who should be required to register as a sex offender. The law mandates that judges impose registration as a part of a criminal sentencing. Crimes that include mandatory registration as a sex offender include:

  • Sexual assault;
  • Aggravated sexual assault;
  • Predatory criminal sexual assault;
  • Sexual abuse;
  • Aggravated sexual abuse; and
  • Child pornography crimes.

What Are the Consequences of Registration?

If you are required to register, you will not be allowed on the grounds of any school, or to live or loiter within 500 feet of any school. An exception may apply to these limitations if you have a child who attends that school and you are on school grounds for legitimate reasons, including conferences with teachers and administrators. You are also not permitted to be in public parks. These restrictions last as long as you are required to be on the sex offender registry. For many people on the registry this means their entire lives.

If your crime took place in 2010 or later, you are also banned from social networking sites while on probation, parole, or mandatory supervised release.

Mechanics of Registration

Every time you register, you will need to pay a $100 fee. If you are considered a sexual predator, you will have to register with the state every year. If you are considered sexually dangerous or sexually violent, you will have to register every 90 days.

You must register with the law enforcement agency that has jurisdiction over your residence. In most places, this means registering with your city's police department, or the county sheriff's office if you reside in an unincorporated area. If you move, you must notify law enforcement within three days.

Should you fail to register as required, or renew your registration, you can be charged with a Class 3 felony on the first occurrence and a Class 2 felony on any subsequent occurrence. As a result, you could face a prison sentence of between two and seven years.

Reliable Legal Guidance

If you have been charged with a sex crime, you need to speak with a skilled and knowledgeable Will County criminal defense attorney. Contact the Law Offices of Tedone and Morton, P.C., today to discuss your case and to explore your available options. Call 815-666-1285 or 815-733-5350 for your free initial consultation.


  • Badges and Associations
  • Badges and Associations
  • Badges and Associations
Back to Top