Law Offices of Tedone and Morton, P.C.

Joliet Office


Plainfield Office


Penalties and Consequences of a First-Offense DUI in Illinois

Posted on

Joliet IL DUI defense attorneyEvery state has its own DUI laws. Illinois happens to have one of the most aggressive penalties and consequences for DUI offenders. In fact, even first-time offenders could face significant fines and penalties. If you or someone you love has been recently arrested on a first-offense DUI, know what this means, and how a conviction could impact your future.

Classification of a First-Offense DUI in Illinois

While there are exceptions (such as getting in an accident that kills another person while under the influence), a first-offense DUI in Illinois is generally considered a Class A misdemeanor. As long as there are no other aggravating factors, this will typically result in a jail term of up to one year and monetary fines of up to $2,500. This does not include court fees, administrative fees, or any other consequences that may be attached to a first-offense DUI conviction.

Administrative and Licensing Penalties

When you are arrested for a DUI, a statutory summary suspension on your license is placed with the Secretary of State. From that point, you have 45 days to contend your DUI to avoid a suspension. This is a one-year suspension for first-time offenders. You can apply for a Monitoring Device Driving Permit (MDDP), which will restore your ability to drive. However, you must follow the terms of the MDDP, which includes the installment of a Breath Alcohol Ignition Interlock Device (BAIID) in your vehicle.

Costs for this aspect of your case will include those that apply to the MDDP, installment of the BAIID, and other costs associated with maintaining the BAIID in your vehicle. You are also subject to paying a reinstatement fee for your license, once your suspension period has ended. In addition, there may be other penalties or requirements that you must follow under the MDDP, or to get your license reinstated once it has been suspended.

You Do Not Have to Accept a DUI Conviction

The summary suspension only happens if you fail to contest your DUI, or if you are found guilty. You do not have to accept this fate. Often, there are mistakes or holes in your case that can be leveraged to have the dismissed. However, you will not know if you simply do nothing. Do not let a DUI take over your life! Contact an experienced criminal defense attorney instead.

At the Law Offices of Tedone and Morton, P.C., we have the knowledge and experience needed to effectively represent you in your DUI case. Whether it is your first offense or a subsequent one, we fight aggressively to ensure your rights are protected. Get the representation you deserve. Call 815-666-1285 and schedule your free consultation with our Joliet, IL DUI defense attorneys today.


  • Badges and Associations
  • Badges and Associations
  • Badges and Associations
Back to Top